fbpx

Tzelem – Trans, Nonbinary, Gender Diverse, and Gender Questioning Online Group

Moving Traditions and Keshet are excited to partner and bring you Tzelem Online, a monthly group for Trans, Nonbinary, Gender Diverse, and Gender Questioning Jewish teens, around the country.

Tzelem offers a safe, supportive space to make new friends and explore issues like:

  • Life transitions
  • Healthy Relationships
  • Body Positivity
  • Self-Compassion
  • Mental Health
  • Jewish Identity
  • And much more!

For those who are familiar with Moving Traditions’ Teen Groups, the group will draw on the best of those programs, except it will be online. Participants will get occasional fun packages in the mail with creative activities and supplies to use during the online sessions and to remind you of what you did together.

The group meets monthly from October through May from 4:00-5:30 p.m. PST/5:00-6:30 p.m. MST/6:00-7:30 p.m. CST/7:00-8:30 p.m. EST on the following dates (subject to change):
October 23, November 20, December 11, January 22, February 12, March 12, April 23, May 7

We offer a sliding scale based on need to ensure that all teens who to join are able (full cost is $200, but when registering, there are multiple sliding scale fee options to choose from). No teen will be turned away based on ability to pay.

Register Now

For additional information about this program, please contact Alisha Pedowitz at apedowitz@movingtraditions.org.

Group Leader: Reed Kolber

Reed Kolber (they/them) is a passionate teacher, spiritual counselor, and musician. They lead Moving Tradition’s National Tzelem Group and the Tzelem B-Mitzvah Family Program. Reed has led Gender Spectrum’s online support groups for LGBTQ+ teens living all over the world.  With over fifteen years of experience across Jewish movements and interfaith settings, Reed completed their chaplaincy residency at St. Mary’s Medical Center, where they focused on bringing yoga, music, and spirituality practices to the adolescent psychiatric ward. Reed is a hospice chaplain, certified massage therapist, and yoga teacher, and has had a spiritual counseling, life cycle facilitation, and bodywork private practice for the past decade. Reed received their Bachelor of Arts from Brandeis University in Women’s and Gender Studies. They studied at Pardes in Jerusalem in a Year Fellowship Program and for two years at the Ziegler School of Rabbinic Studies. Reed completed a Masters in Judaic Studies, specializing in Jewish Values, Ethics and Action from the Academy of Jewish Religion of California. They have received several Jewish Innovation grants from Reconstructing Judaism, Clal, The Mintz Family Foundation, The Levinson Foundation, and The Jim Joseph Foundation.  Reed lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with their partner Maggie.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email